Childhood

Who doesn’t want to be a child?
Who doesn’t want his/her childhood back?
Who doesn’t crave for those good old days?
We all hope many things. We aspire and we wish many things. Everyone has different wishes, different hopes. But we all have a similar wish, a common hope. It is childhood! We are now grown-ups; but whenever we see the children playing, we naturally start thinking about our childhood. Time never comes back which means we cannot get our childhood second time in life. But there is a way to get that time back. It is so simple. Let’s live like children now. Let’s go in the past.

~Amit Muchhala

And henceforth I pray, “Oh, exploring these winds, Almighty, let me retrace the time, flow me past the dusty storm; my ages ravaged in its whirl. Those days I lure of the warmth of ‘ma’, her caressing me with numb fingers. I sprung up in my daddy’s arms, the way he used to moisten my cheeks with his love. Those days, both of them held my little finger, roaming a billion towns. Days free of turmoil and rush, a kingdom of dreams and a palace, I were the queen. I miss those toddles and those dramatic periods of sleep when someone used to lift me up, those sibling fights and the goodbye cries. The deep blots still persist. These years, I saw the world changing, obliquity disappearing. This world presents me a face, its unbarred identity, no more pleasant as it had been when I was a child, when it was childhood!” Looking at the playful children, I go back tracing my childhood; I see them running in the streets and hear shouting to their pitch. Those odd games we used to play and the appetite we had, the sparkle on their faces remind me of us; how we were without worries and cares, always wearing a beautiful charm and with the silliest dreams! Oh, I wish them back and everyone does. God responds to mass prayers, I read from the Bible, and so, let’s bow our heads together and pray for a life we would love to live!

~Chahat Raj

Leave a comment